Industry Advisory Groups

Melbourne School of Engineering is guided by six discipline-based industry advisory groups.

These groups provide valuable insights on our strategic planning; and teaching and research programs. Representing a broad spectrum of industries, each member provides a link to the external stakeholders who comprise their field of expertise.

The goals are to focus on increasing industry involvement in course design, including input into:

  • The curriculum
  • Presentation of guest lectures
  • Real-world case studies
  • Industry-based projects
  • Site visits.

For further information, contact Peter Scales,

Biomedical Engineering Industry Advisory Group

Name Position
Mr Andrew Batty, ChairLincoln Consulting
Mr David VenningGE Healthcare
Mr Paul Carboon Hydrix
Mr Ted DohrmannDohrmann Consulting
Dr Rebecca BaileyMelbourne Health
Dr Stefan MaugerCochlear

Chemical Engineering Industry Advisory Group

Name Position
Mr Russell Scott, Chair  
Mr Brian Price Director of Engineering, bioCSL
Dr Roya Khalil Innovation & Marketing Manager, Orora Beverage
Dr Judy Blackbeard Manager Applied Research, Integrated Planning, Melbourne Water
Dr Ralph Hackl Principal Advisor, Rio Tinto
Mr Paul Cornford Process Technology Manager, Engineering, Orica
Mr Garth Norman Project manager, Midstream Engineering, ExxonMobil
Mr Stephen ExingerCUB
Mr Richard HayneCSL
Ms Andrea Hoseythyssenkrupp Industrial Solutions (Australia)
Mr Russell SchroeterSNF Australia

Computing and Information Systems Industry Advisory Group

Name Position
Branko Panich (Chair)Grant Thornton Consulting
Frank ArrigoAmazon Web Services
Yann BurdenDC Power Co
Rod DilnuttAustralian Computer Society (ACS)
Graham ElliottMicrosoft Australia
Steven GodinhoGenix Ventures Pty Ltd
Chris LewinDeloitte Australia
Raisa LitchfieldComputing & Information Systems Students Association (CISSA)
Paul NicholasEmpired Ltd
Graeme PortInfinuendo
Stuart RichardsonAdventure Capital and York Butter Factory
Glenys RobinsonVictorian Department of Economic Development
Johnny SmoesZanity
Christian VenterAustralia and New Zealand Banking Group Ltd
Steven VersteegCA Technologies
Sally-Ann WilliamsGoogle Australia
Con ZymarisCyber IT Solutions Pty Ltd

Electrical and Electronic Engineering Industry Advisory Group

Name Position
Mr Stuart Lee, Chair Chairman, Reach Ltd (Hong Kong)
Ms Christine Tursky Gordon Marketing Manager, SouthTech Systems
Mr Bill Wood Founder, Daintree Networks
Mr Wayne Fitzsimmons Chairman, Pearcey Foundation
Mr Jordan Green Executive Chairman, Jordan Corporation
Mr Rod Laird Industry Consultant, Business Impact Architecture
Assoc Prof Greg Adamson

Enterprise Fellow (Cyber Security), Melbourne School of Engineering

Prof Len Sciacca Melbourne Enterprise Professor (Defence Science & Technology), Melbourne School of Engineering
Mr Robert Slaviero Managing Director, Analog Devices Australia Pty Ltd
Assoc Prof Bill Petreski Enterprise Fellow (Digital, Networks & Automation), Melbourne School of Engineering

Infrastructure Engineering Industry Advisory Group

Name Position
Dr Collette BurkeChief Engineer of Victoria and Managing Director, Exner
Mr Glenn CockertonManaging Director, Spatial Vision Innovations
Ms Catherine EyminDirector Technical Services, PTV
Mr Tony HedleyProject Director, Level Crossing Removal Authority
Mr Ian IresonDirector Land Registration Services, DELWP
Ms Karen JaniszewskiDirector, Urbanxchange Pty Ltd
Mr Dean McIntyreManager, Victoria, GHD
Ms Finola ReidPrincipal, ARUP
Mr Peter RyanManaging Director, WBHO
Mr Geoff WakeLNG Offtake Coordinator, Production Planning & Market Liaison, Woodside Energy Ltd
Ms Emma WoodhouseProject Director (Carlton), Lend Lease

Mechanical Engineering Industry Advisory Group

Name Position
Mr Frank SchreverMachine Safety By Design
Mr Peter MeikleCRM Advisory
Mr John McGuireAurecon
Mr Troy RobinetteANCA Motion
Mr Miro MileticMemco 
Dr Nicholas BeagleyDefence Science and Technology Organisation
Mr Richard TaubeFord
Mr Matteo GiacobelloDefence Science and Technology Organisation
Mr Gordon New 
Mr Mark Nolan