Schools, departments and research centres


At the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology, we recognise that multiple skillsets are needed to drive technological innovation. To maximise interdisciplinary cross collaboration and research synergy, departments within the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology (FEIT) are organised into three overarching schools. Our schools are designed as portals to drive the cross-fertilisation of ideas, skills and vision among students, researchers and industry partners.

School of Computing and Information Systems (CIS)

School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering (CBE)

School of Electrical, Mechanical and Infrastructure Engineering (EMI)


Biomedical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Infrastructure Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Research centres and institutes

We are home to a number of major research centres of international standing and Cooperative Research Centres (CRCs) that represent joint ventures between universities, industry and government bodies in Australia.